LAS Distinguished Professors for 2014-15 Academic Year Announced

Nikos Varelas, professor in the physics department, and Joel Brown, professor in the biological sciences department, have been named LAS Distinguished Professors for the 2014-15 academic year.

The award, established in 2006, recognizes exceptional faculty for their contributions to the LAS and UIC communities, as well as for their significant and sustained intellectual scholarship in their chosen fields. Each award recipient receives $5,000 in research support.