American Mathematical Society Names Initial Class of Fellows

Mathematical scientists from around the world have been named Fellows of the American Mathematical Society (AMS) for 2013, the program's initial year.  This inaugural class of 1,119 Fellows represents over 600 institutions. Eleven faculty members from the UIC Department of Mathematics, Statistics and Computer Sciences are included in this class.

The professors include:
Professor Jerry Bona
Professor Laura DeMarco
Professor Lawrence Ein
Professor Emeritus Paul Fong
Professor Emeritus Steven Hurder
Professor Louis Kauffman
Professor David Marker
Professor Emerita Vera Pless
Professor Emeritus David Radford
Professor Emeritus Stephen Smith
Professor Emerita Bhama Srinivasan

To see the names of all individuals honored, please visit the AMS Fellows page.

The Fellows of the AMS designation recognizes members who have made outstanding contributions to the creation, exposition, advancement, communication and utilization of mathematics. Among the goals of the program are to create an enlarged class of
mathematicians recognized by their peers as distinguished for their contributions to the profession and to honor excellence. Founded in 1888 to further mathematical research and scholarship, the 30,000-member AMS fulfills its mission through programs and services that promote mathematical research and its uses, strengthen mathematical education, and foster awareness and appreciation of mathematics and its connections to other disciplines and everyday life.

For more information on the Fellows program, please visit the AMS site.