LAS Distinguished Economist and Historian Deirdre Nansen McCloskey Elected to the Prestigious American Academy of Arts and Sciences

UIC LAS Distinguished Professor of Economics and of History Emerita Deirdre Nansen McCloskey elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. Founded in 1780, the American Academy of Arts and Sciences honors excellence and convenes leaders from every field of human endeavor to examine new ideas, address issues of importance to the nation and the world, and work together, as expressed in our charter, β€œto cultivate every art and science which may tend to advance the interest, honor, dignity, and happiness of a free, independent, and virtuous people.” Dr. McCloskey joins the company of notable members – from AAAS founders John Adams, Benjamin Franklin, Thomas Jefferson, and George Washington to Ralph Waldo Emerson, Maria Mitchell, and Alexander Graham Bell.