Emeritus Professor Smith Recipient of 2012 AMS Leroy P. Steel Prize

Mathematics, Statistics, and Computer Science Professor Emeritus Stephen Smith was one of four mathematics professors to share the 2012 American Mathematical Society Leroy P. Steele Prize for Mathematical Exposition for their paper "The Classification of Finite Simple Groups: Groups of Characteristic 2 Type." The Steele prize is awarded annually by the AMS, and is one of the highest distinctions in mathematics.