LAS Faculty Henrik Aratyn and Sally Sedgwick Selected as 2014-2015 Fulbright Scholars

Two LAS faculty members are among five UIC faculty recently awarded 2014-2015 Fulbright Scholarships. Henrik Aratyn, professor of physics and associate dean of the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences, works in theoretical particle physics and mathematical physics. Sally Sedgwick, distinguished professor of philosophy and affiliated professor of Germanic studies, specializes in the history of 18th- and 19th-century thought, particularly the practical and theoretical philosophies of Immanuel Kant and G. W. F. Hegel. They are among 1,100 U.S. faculty and professionals who will travel abroad through the Fulbright U.S. Scholar Program, the flagship international educational exchange sponsored by the U.S. government. It is designed to increase mutual understanding between the people of the United States and the people of other countries.

History Professor Susan Levine Receives Planned Parenthood Honor

The Planned Parenthood of Central North Carolina's Janet Colm Award for Transformative Leadership has named among its inaugural recipients Susan Levine, LAS associate professor of history and director of the Institute for the Humanities.

UIC News: UIC Receives National Award for Diversity

The University of Illinois at Chicago received the 2014 Higher Education Excellence in Diversity (HEED) Award from INSIGHT Into Diversity magazine, the oldest and largest diversity-focused publication in higher education.